PearShaped Annual 2016

Over the summer, I’ve been working on a very exciting project…

10314584_718268961569572_7422018477824948450_n
PearShaped
is a student music magazine at the University of Exeter, and although they publish primarily on an online platform, they also have a print annual. This year, I was approached to design it myself (the society President had been impressed by my design work for Exeposé).

I was given a very generous brief: they were simply looking for a black/white/green theme, and my stylish, minimalist preferences were clearly expected.

4-5

For about a month, I worked incredibly long hours putting together this 60-page Freshers’ Week annual. Aside from setting up an exciting, original design – based loosely on the previous year’s edition – I also really wanted to make use of the opportunity by setting up pages which can only ever be seen in a magazine form. For me, this meant the opportunity to have a full-page image, with the text placed neatly over it.

30-31

I established an ‘edgy’ angular title text box for each page in PearShaped’s (lovely) signature green, and sometimes with a black header – labelling it as a ‘Feature’ or an ‘Introducing’ piece, for example. And I also set up some funky pull quotes: each one featuring its own mini green symbol relating to the article or quote.

8-9

Anyway, here’s a selection of some of my favourite double-page spreads…

18-1924-2538-3956-57

Despite the considerable – and often knackering – task, I completed it ahead of schedule, and I’m incredibly proud of the finished design: from front, to back…

1-front60-back

Leave a Reply

